Gabe's Alive

Two Years, Two Legs (Gabe writes)

Posted on: May 19, 2011

Hello to all my friends, family and supporters out there-

It’s been two years since the day my accident took place. I will never forget the day it happened and how scarey it was. But these days when I think back, sadness is not the emotion I feel. I have overcome so much, I actually feel a sense of accomplishment, not sadness. I now know for sure no matter what I am up against, I can overcome any challenge life wants me to face.

I don’t want to say I’m happy I lost my legs or that I don’t miss them every single day, because I do. But I try to look on the positive side as much as possible to see the silver linings. I now have more willingness to try new things that interest me than I did before my accident. In the past I would let anxiety and fear prevent me from going out into the world. Now I have new experiences that make me a better person. I find myself doing things I never could before, and might never experience if I hadn’t undergone such a tragic accident.

I think my accident actually gave me the opportunity to get involved in sports in a way I never would have been able to, and it is such a blessing. I’ve been really enjoying the opportunity to play hockey on a high level for the New Jersey Freeze.

On the Ice at Half Time

It is sort of amazing how the circle of life works. When I was a little kid, my mom taught yoga, so I knew about it but I was never super interested until three years ago, when I decided to learn more. I wanted to know about the different styles of yoga, and I have the good luck that my Auntie Kaitlin is editor for Yoga Journal magazine. She helped me get a job volunteering to be a badge checker and door monitor at the Yoga Journal Conference in Boston in 2008. My On the last day, I was assigned to help set up the class and watch the door for a class taught by Mathew Sanford. He is a yoga instructor in a wheelchair, and one of his main teaching styles is for teachers who are working with people with a wide range of disabilities and how yoga can be tailored to such individuals needs.

with Mathew Sanford at the Yoga Journal Conference in New York

Last Sunday I got to attend the Yoga Journal Conference in New York city, thanks to my aunt and the conference director, Alana. So it was very interesting and sort of funny because when I attended this year, I was in Mathew’s class again, but this time I was not the door monitor. The main focus was on me, as Matt was able to use me to show other students what adjustments can be helpful for a double amputee, and how certain yoga positions could be adjusted for people in my situation. I really appreciated getting to be in his class and what he showed me about working with my energy in ways I didn’t know possible. The students seemed to really appreciate my willingness, and I was very glad I could be of help to Mathew’s class and that at the same time I got to learn so much from it.

I got to see some yoga teacher/ friends I had not seen since my time in the hospital, like Seane Corn, and it really warmed my heart to see these people again and be in a much healthier situation where I could show how much I appreciated them.

with yoga teacher Faith Hunter

I also got to meet some amazing yoga teachers I didn’t know before, like Bo Forbes, Faith Hunter and Elena Brower. All of them had truly fantastic careers and beautiful souls, attitudes and words for others. I felt a lot of love and admiration.

Other good news: I am very proud of my progress in school last semester, because I was committed to getting good marks no matter how much focus it required. All my work paid off. I passed my class with great marks in all of my subjects – even German! (That class was much harder than I expected!)

More great news: I got a dog! The people at Golden Hearts rescue looked for a dog for me that was calm, intelligent and easy to train.  A dog that might help me with small things, but mainly be easy to manage from a wheelchair and be a great companion. I am so happy with Lulu, and she is healthy and so much fun to have around. Acquiring her and getting her set up at the vet was expensive, but I think she is a great investment in being happy every day.

Two year Anniversary of the Accident - with Mom and Lulu

My prosthetics progress has not been moving forward at an acceptable pace. I need help and I’m looking for a good prosthetic doctor here in New Jersey. It’s hard to imagine exactly what is possible for me on prosthetics, and what I need to do to make my body cooperate fully, but I have great equipment and I think with some professional adjustments and support, I can be out of my wheelchair some of the time.

I was checking out people who got help from the Hangar prosthetics crew, and the success they were able to achieve. One person who really stuck for me was Laurens Molina. He was born with no bones in his legs below his knees, and had them amputated at an early age. He now runs in races and does everything a normal person does, wearing his prosthetics. I think his ability to never give up and to get to a point where he is truly comfortable on his prosthetics is truly inspiring and I aim to be like him. Even though I did not loose my legs at birth – which seems to make it easier to adjust –  I believe I can be just as effective in my situation.

Check out Molina’s profile here.

If anyone has any suggestions about a good prosthetist who accepts Medicaid in New Jersey, I’d be grateful for any introduction.

SO much has changed in the last two years. Even with everything I have gone through and the struggles I have faced I would not take any of it back and I am so happy and grateful for where I am in my life, and especially for all the love and support that I have found people are capable of. All that happened is truly a blessing. I love and care about all those out there who have helped me and been there for me. I won’t ever give up knowing I have people behind me that love me.

Take care everyone out there and enjoy life every day!

Peace-

Gabe

12 Responses to "Two Years, Two Legs (Gabe writes)"

HI there – You’ve gone missing from this blog for two years! Would love to see you post soon, and share how things are going now.

Leave a comment

Recent comments

gabegoreham on Yoga Rediscovered
gabegoreham on Yoga Rediscovered
gabegoreham on Boot Camp Boost
Lynda Paulson on Yoga Rediscovered
Aunt K on Yoga Rediscovered