Gabe's Alive

Down & Up Stairs (Niika writes, movies)

Posted on: July 26, 2009

It was a big weekend. Really big.

Gabe and I drove down to Cherry Hill, New Jersey, to spend four days with friends, Sean and Lilavati. They were amazing to hang out with, and it was the first chance Gabe and I have had to be together outside of the hospital since the accident. We ate great meals, rested, laughed and cried in each others’ arms.

Gabe and I both have a lot of adjusting to do, but we healed a lot this weekend, thanks to the good, loving vibes of our dear friends.

Gabe was curious about Lilavati’s Sivam Yoga studio, that richly mysterious world of peace downstairs. He decided to check it out, and when I heard his plans, I grabbed my camera and followed him!  This was his first attempt at making use of a stairway, just a week after getting out of rehab–

For Gabe,  it was no sweat! A little friendly encouragement from Sean and Lilavati sweetened this first.

Check out Gabe’s grace and style….

18 Responses to "Down & Up Stairs (Niika writes, movies)"

My husband has spent the last 3 summers in the hospital–the last 2 ended with amputations (below the knee). He now has prosthetics for both and his getting around amazingly. (He just came in from trying to clean up a downed tree from the storm). I will keep you, family, and support system in prayer. I rec’d a flyer about your benefit in Clinton. I’ll be out of town then, but will encourage my family here to attend.

We would be glad to encourage you…if you want to contact us. I have recently joined facebook…or you can email me. We live in Hunterdon County.

Hang in there–you’ll be amazed at what you can do.

Hey Gabe –

You’re looking awesome! Really great to see you hauling but around the house. It must be nice as hell to be out of that bed. I can also see how buff you’re going to get from using your arms as your major source of locomotion . . . I will NOT be challenging you to arm-wrestling matches in the future!

Keep on keepin’ on. Yeah, and keep the glasses on – it’s “all you”!

David

Hey Gabe, Niika, this is Uki signing in from Berlin. WOW! Looking cool with those glasses Gabe! Niika: Big Hug! You were always my favorite of Kaitlin’s sisters (I know, you’re the only one, but you get what I mean). And my favorite pic? Niika relaxing on the floater in the pool. And the band rocks! Big, Big hugs there for you guys… spread them round.

Gabe,
Your strength is just AWESOME!!!
You could beat everyone I know at arm-wrestling.
Sorry I’ve been away from the site and my email for awhile and have some catching up to do now….
I just saw lots of superhero types at the ComicCon (40th annual), but
no superheroes as amazing as you!
Thanks for the inspiration.
You too, Niika!
HUGS …Suzanne & family here in SD

Gabe, It’s so great to see you out of the hospital and on the move. Great videos! You are an inspiration to all. Lots of love to you and your mom. Tamara

SO AMAZING! IM SO ABSOLUTELY AMAZED AND PROUD… GABE YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL AND STUNNING AND SO STRONG INSIDE AND OUT… WOW! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THESE PRICELESS VIDEOS …THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS MILESTONE…FOR LETTING US ALL BE APART OF YOUR LIFE!

Gabe and Niika -don’t know if you remember me – I was one of Gabe’s nurses at MMH. You are awesome! Just want to thank you for sharing these videos of your progress. I don’t normally get to see what happens to patients after they leave us. It was great to see the progress you have made. Keep up the wonderful progess- God be with you!!! Sharon

Hello Sharon – of COURSE we remember you…! So great to hear from you. While we don’t miss hospital life, we do think of those who gave great care and made the long days and difficult hours more humanly bearable.
Thank you so much for your great work, Sharon.
Each time we had a competent and caring nurse assigned to a 12 hour shift, both Gabe and I breathed a true sigh of relief.
Nurses are infinitely important! God bless you, too…
With Love,
Niika

Leave a comment

Recent comments

gabegoreham on Yoga Rediscovered
gabegoreham on Yoga Rediscovered
gabegoreham on Boot Camp Boost
Lynda Paulson on Yoga Rediscovered
Aunt K on Yoga Rediscovered